Spring National Honor Society Induction


Ann Chappell Ellington

Mr. Zoby giving his speech while NHS executive board prepares for the rest of the ceremony

The Monarch Sigma Chapter of the National Honor Society held its spring induction ceremony after school on March 23, 2022. It took place in person and friends and family of the inductees were welcome to attend. 


Menchville’s AFJROTC presented the colors and the flag was honored by the playing of The National Anthem. Christina Majewicz, the Society’s sponsor, gave opening remarks and introduced the guest speakers Mr. Bobby Surry, principal, and Mr. Ken Zoby, math teacher. They both gave congratulatory speeches referencing the importance of the four pillars of the NHS: scholarship, service, character, and leadership. 


There were thirty-nine new inductees from the junior class. As their names were called by Sophie Adkins, they lined up in front of the stage with candles and flowers in hand. They included:

Husna Ahmadzai                   Laura Beier                               Anthony Clark

John Crain                              Alex Dierkens                           Brylynn Gilbert

Victoria Grizotti                      Molly Hartigan                         Colin Herring

Elena Javier Matos                 Kellen Johnson                        Natalie Kahn

Kaitlyn Kempston                    Jaxon Kirsch                             Kayden Kirsch

Leah Louk                                Raquel Manadero                    Gavin Monteith

Matthew Mya                            Amia Oakman                           Loren Osborne

Breanna Patierno                      David Riedel-Bello                  Ian Rodgers

Nathan Rummel                        Nate Santoni                            Jadyn Schoenberg

Jaelynn Smith                           Eleanor Stenberg                      Alli Strickhouser

Ella Sturgis                               Matthew Swanenburg                Jordyn Taylor

Anna Tucker                             Elena Valero Munoz                   Tyler Vincent

Leann Vo                                  Atiana Williams                            Natalie Welcher

Once everyone was announced, members of the NHS executive board, Reagan Zins, Grace Rivera, Megan Wilson, and Jacob Williams, began to describe each of the four pillars that the Society represents while the inductees’ candles were being lit. Avery Atkins, the president, led them in the National Honor Society pledge. Blowing out the candles made it official, marking the end of the ceremony.

Leann Vo, Kayden Kirsch, and Alli Strickhouser (left to right) after the ceremony (Andrea Strickhouser)

Following the induction, there were opportunities for proud parents to take pictures of their scholars with the help of National Honor Society photographer, Emily Odachowski. New members were also treated to cake and cookies at the reception where they received their certificates and pins.