National Honor Society Inducts New Members via Zoom

Menchville’s National Honor Society welcomed new members at the end of the year last year; however, with school switching to virtual learning because of COVID-19, an induction ceremony was unable to occur.

On Wednesday, December 16, the National Honor Society held a late induction for their 2020 inductees via zoom, so that they would still be able to celebrate their accomplishment of being accepted.

The induction began with introductions and messages of congratulations from Principal Bobby Surry and Christina Majewicz, the society’s sponsor. Menchville’s ROTC members were able to present the colors and play the national anthem through a prerecorded video that was played during the ceremony. The inductees also heard words of encouragement and congratulations from Pastor Ken White, the guest speaker at the induction ceremony.

Prerecorded speeches were also played by three former National Honor Society members. Ashlyn Herring, National Honor Society’s former president, introduced each of the speakers at the ceremony. Herring was then joined by Courtney Hodge, the NHS former vice president, and Chris von Schmidt-Pauli, the former NHS secretary in performing speeches on each of the four pillars of National Honor Society: Scholarship, Service, Leadership, and Character.

After the speeches were complete, the inductees each lit a candle and Mrs. Majewicz read out the names of everyone that was being inducted. A slide with each inductee’s name and photo was presented as their name was called. Once all of the inductees’ names were called, they said the National Honor Society induction pledge together.

The following students were inducted into the National Honor Society:

Ainsley Abbitt
Brittany Allen
Marbrico Anderson
Jenea Bernard
Lauren Beuter
Natalie Bretton
Samantha Caballero
Ian Claville
Alyssa Cirrincione
Ian Conner
Ashley Dodson
Brandon Edwards
Elizabeth Ellis
Tyler Felix
Sean Glauner
Morgan Gross
Samuel Hanny
Hannah Hollis
Caitlyn Holmes
Emily Christine Hubbard
Ryan Jeon
Ashley Johnson
Cameron Johnson
Jamila Jones
Keshawn Lynch
Emma McKinney
Christie Miller
Ada Moses
Sigrid Perkinson

Ryan Pham
Jessica Price
Gabrielle Roach
William Roberts
Zachary Santoni
Katherine Scott
Rileigh Self
Deja Smith
Dylan Smith
Michaela Smith
Carlie Stewart
Natalie Sun
Alexandra Swanenburg
Cameron Tomaino
Madelynn LeeAnn Vinson
Taylor Waddell
Haleigh Wagenefer
Chris Ware
Shelby Woodward
Delaney Younger
Thomas Young
Melissa Zheng